Money Doesn’t Buy Happiness

We had a presenter in my class today, and something he said did not sit with me well.  He said something along the lines of, “If you want to get a lot of money and live a happy life, then become an engineer!”  His philosophy in life is completely different from my own and I was shocked to hear this in class, especially in a Fine Arts class since a lot of the students are studying in completely different fields than engineering.  He is completely entitled to his own opinion, so I wasn’t as angry about it when I actually thought about it.  He continued on to talk about how he is left-brained because he sees the world in a logical manner, while people like artists are more right-brained and see the world differently than he does.  This really explained why I was so opposed to his views today because I guess I see the world in a more artsy, creative way, rather than a logical and structural way.

I guess I have to realize that many other people have different goals in life and I should value their opinions.  Everyone comes from a different background and thinks in different ways.  Many people have the goal to earn a lot of money or some may be passionate about a career that just so happens to make good money.  My only concern with this is that a person may become so invested in getting a career that makes a lot of money, that they forget about their own happiness along the way.  Some of the richest people may become the most unhappy people because they may not enjoy what they do for a living.  A teacher’s salary is not as high as many other careers, but my goal in life is not to earn a lot of money, but to enrich the minds of children and make a difference in someone’s life.

I believe that happiness is not measured by the amount of money you make or the amount (or quality) of the education you received.  All I want to do with my life is to inspire, educate and bring happiness to others!  When I see the smiles and hear the laughter from others, I know that I’m doing something right and that is enough payment.  I really do believe that laughter is the best medicine!  Obviously, you need to earn enough money to survive, but I don’t think the pay cheques should become more important than your career or passions.

images

2 thoughts on “Money Doesn’t Buy Happiness

  1. I am rather balanced between both sides of my brain. I`m a very analytical person with every decision I make, and yet I also factor in such variables as emotions. This man seems to have not found happiness at all if he thinks money can give it to him, whether or not he is right that engineers make a lot of it. I do not think it is just because you are creative that you disagreed, I think it is a bit more of a philosophical rather than logical statement.

Leave a Reply

