Learning ASL: Blog Entry #1

Hello there!  A couple of days ago, I started finding resources on how to count in ASL.  Before I looked at other resources, I looked back again at the video I talked about in my last post.  I started out with a video on about.com.  It was very helpful, except for the fact that you can’t see what he’s doing on the other side of his hand. Numbers 1-10 was pretty easy, but it soon proved to be difficult after number 11.  In this video, I learned about how double numbers (ex: 22) are signed differently than the other numbers, which I found really interesting!  Instead of signing the numbers upright, you would slant your hand down, so that your palm is facing the ground.  I found it hard to break habits from counting in my everyday life.  For example I would use my index finger, my middle finger and my ring finger to show the number 3, normally.  In ASL, you use your thumb, your index finger and your middle finger to sign the number 3.

I found a different video on youtube of a man signing from 1-100.  It was very helpful because he went through a step by step process and explained other ways to sign numbers.  Through this video, I found out that there was a different way to sign 16-19! The original way to do it was taught in the first video I looked at on about.com, which is a combination of ten and the second digit (ex: 16 would be the sign for ten and six together).  I did the original way earlier on in my own video and showed the alternate signs later on in the video.  Another thing he taught me was a different way to sign the number 25.  The first video simply taught me to sign the 20 sign and the 5 sign.  The second video taught me to wiggle my ring finger instead.  I show both versions in my own video as I counted.

Here’s my video of going through the numbers by memory!  It’s definitely not perfect, but it’s a start! I did include some of my errors, but I corrected myself right away.  You can just tell by my face that I am concentrating very hard!

Number 40 on is pretty self explanatory and it follows the same fashion as 30-39 (I signed that in the video), so I didn’t include the numbers in between 40, 50, 60, 70, 80 and 90.  I filmed and edited my video from iMovie, which I have used before in past projects.  I don’t believe it to be the best editor, but it’s all I have and am aware of.  Something new that I tried was the voiceover option.  Filming myself and recording my voice was pretty weird the first time, but maybe, through this project, I will become more confident and comfortable in front of the camera.  Let me know if you have any innovative resources or any tips!

One thought on “Learning ASL: Blog Entry #1

Leave a Reply

